The Second SPI Annual Conference 2014

The Power of Partnerships

November 7th - 8th, 2014

Chicago, IL


The conference will begin on Friday with a keynote by Professor Nicholas Epley, the author of Mindwise: How We Understand What Others Think, Believe, Feel and Want. Following the keynote, Friday morning will also feature a special session moderated by Professors Anya Samek and Michael Price on the importance of field experimentation in the philanthropic sector, and the power of partnerships. Researchers will present new findings about charitable appeals delivered through online networks, the use of incentives, gifts and information to increase donations, and many more. A poster session will highlight the research conducted by our researchers and their practitioner partners, and by graduate students. The conference dinner includes a keynote from Chuck Longfield, Senior Vice President and Chief Scientist, Blackbaud.



Friday, Fairmont Hotel Chicago

08:45 AM – 09:00 AM: Breakfast
09:00 AM – 10:00 AM: Keynote – Nicholas Epley
10:15 AM - 11:45 AM: Speaker sessions
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM: Lunch
01:15 PM - 04:30 PM: Speaker sessions
04:45 PM - 05:30 PM: Presentation of SPI Partnership projects
05:30 PM - 06:30 PM: Poster Session and Cocktail Hour
06:30 PM - 08:30 PM: Conference dinner & Keynote - Chuck Longfield

Saturday, Saieh Hall at the University of Chicago

08:15 AM - 09:30 AM: Breakfast, tours of Saieh Hall
09:30 AM - 12:45 PM: Speaker sessions
01:00 PM - 01:30 PM: Lunch
01:45 PM - 03:15 PM: Speaker sessions


Presenters at Speaker Sessions

Alexander Cappellen, Professor, Norwegian School of Economics
Angela de Oliviera, Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Anya Samek, Assistant Professor, UW-Madison, SPI Co-Investigator
Ashley Whillans, Graduate Student, University of British Columbia
Ayelet Gneezy, Associate Professor, UCSD, 2014 SPI Grant Winner
Bertil Tungodden, Professor, Norwegian School of Economics, Presenting SPI funded research
Chris Einolf, Assistant Professor, DePaul University, 2013 SPI Grant winner
Daniel Houser, Professor and Chairman, George Mason University, 2014 SPI Grant winner
Daniel Jones, Assistant Professor, University of South Carolina
David Klinowski, Graduate Student, University of Pittsburgh, 2013 SPI PhD Grant winner
David Reiley, Google, Presenting SPI funded research
Ericka Scherenberg, Graduate Student, University of Texas, Dallas, 2014 SPI PhD Grant winner
Erik Kimbrough, Assistant Professor, Simon Fraser University
Forrest Williams, Assistant Professor, Portland State University
George Newman, Assistant Professor, Yale University
Ian Krajbich, Assistant Professor, The Ohio State University
James Cox, Professor, Georgia State University
Jean Decety, Professor, the University of Chicago and SPI Co-Investigator
Jim Andreoni, Professor, UCSD, 2103 SPI Grant Winner and 2014 SPI Advisory Board Member
Jonathan Meer, Associate Professor, Texas A&M University, 2013-2014 SPI Advisory Board member
Judd Kessler, Assistant Professor, University of Pennsylvania
Lalin Anik, Postdoctoral Scholar, Duke University
Lata Gangadharan, Professor, Monash University
Laura Grant, Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, 2013 SPI Grant winner
Laura Razzolini, Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University, 2014 SPI Grant winner
Lucas Coffman, Assistant Professor, The Ohio State University
Mario Macis, Assistant Professor, Johns Hopkins University, 2014 SPI Grant Winner
Mark Ottoni-Wilhelm, Professor, IUPUI, 2014 SPI Grant Winner
Matthew Chao, Graduate Student, Caltech
Michael Sanders, Postdoctoral Scholar, Harvard University
Michael Price, Associate Professor, Georgia State University, SPI Consultant
Nathaniel Ashby, Postdoctoral Scholar, Carnegie Mellon University, 2014 SPI Grant winner
Neslihan Uler, Assistant Research Professor, University of Michigan, 2014 SPI Grant winner
Pamela Jakiela, Assistant Professor, University of Maryland
Paul Smeets, Assistant Professor, Maastricht University
Ragan Petrie, Professor, George Mason University, 2013 SPI Grant winner
Rob Metcalfe, Postdoctoral Scholar, the University of Chicago
Roman Sheremeta, Assistant Professor, Case Western University, 2014 SPI Grant winner, Presenting SPI funded research
Russell James, Professor, Texas Tech University
Sally Sadoff, Assistant Professor, UCSD Presenting SPI funded research
Sarah Jacobson, Assistant Professor, Williams College, 2014 SPI Advisory Board Member
Sarah Smith, Professor, University of Bristol
Sera Linardi, Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh
Silvia Saccarado, Graduate Student, UCSD, Presenting SPI funded research
Terri Zhu, Director, Louis’ Groceries, Presenting SPI funded research
Uri Gneezy, Professor, UCSD, 2013 SPI Grant Winner and 2014 SPI Advisory Board Member


Session Chairs

Abigail Payne, Professor, McMaster University
Avner Ben-Ner, Professor, University of Minnesota, SPI Consultant
Alex Imas, Assistant Professor, Carnegie Mellon University
John List, Professor and Chairman, University of Chicago, SPI Principal Investigator
Louis Putterman, Professor, Brown University, SPI Consultant
Luigi Butera, Postdoctoral Scholar, University of Chicago, 2014 SPI Grant Winner
Huseyin Yildirim, Professor, Duke University
Szu-Chi Huang, Assistant Professor, Stanford University
Daniel Hungerman, Associate Professor, Notre Dame University
Paola Mallucci, Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin
Daniel Martin, Assistant Professor, Paris School of Economics


Poster Presenters

Amanda Chuan, Graduate Student, University of Pennsylvania
Charis Li, Graduate Student, University of Florida
Doug Norton, Graduate Student, Florida State University, SPI PhD Grant winner
Josie Chen, Graduate Student, Brown University
Lester Lusher, Graduate Student, University of California, Davis, SPI PhD Grant winner
Maja Adena, Research Fellow, WZB
Michael Schreck, Consultant, Analysis Group, SPI PhD Grant winner
Rebecca Wright, Graduate Student, University of Essex
Shisaku Sasaki, Graduate Student, Osaka University
Stephanie Heger, Graduate Student, Washington University
Urmimala Sen, Graduate Student, Georgia State University